Five Below

A weekly staple at JZ Club, JQ Whitcomb’s jazz quintet “Five Below” has wowed Shanghai audiences since 2006 with a unique mix of musical styles.  Offering up a platter of juicy original pieces together with classic, crispy hard bop standards and rich, creamy ballads, Five Below has mouths watering and feet tapping every Tuesday night without fail.

The quintet is built upon a solid foundation of Hammond organ, drums and guitar, while the trumpet and tenor saxophone round out the top half of the sound.  There’s nothing else like this group for miles around.

Band members:
J.Q. Whitcomb – trumpet, band leader
Alec Haavik – tenor saxophone
Lawrence Ku – guitar
Charles Foldesh – drums
Steinar Nickelsen – Hammond organ