The Red Groove Project

The Red Groove Project is:

Erica Lee (China):  vocals

JQ Whitcomb (USA): trumpet

Hu Dan Feng (China):  trumpet

Alec Haavik (USA):  saxophone

Hu Qing Wen (China):  trombone

Lawrence Ku (USA):  guitar

Sean Higgins (USA):  keyboards

EJ Parker (USA):  bass

Nicholas McBride (Australia):  drums

Leonardo Susi (Brazil):  percussion

The Red Groove Project has been bringing the finest funk and groove music to China since 2004.  Originally founded in Beijing by Asian-American guitarist/composer Lawrence Ku, the band eventually based itself in Shanghai after Ku relocated there in 2005.  During it’s two-year Saturday night residency at the JZ Club (one of Shanghai’s hottest live music venues), the band honed its skills and evolved into one of the tightest working bands in town, playing each night for enthusiastic, dancing crowds.  In 2007, the group took a hiatus so that Ku could focus on other music projects.

Now,  since October of 2009, RGP is back and better than ever, with an expanded 10-piece band that includes a vocalist, a 4-horn section,  and a full rhythm section plus percussion.   The music is fresh and original and will move both the mind and body with its dynamic fusion of funk, rock, pop, soul, jazz, and even South American elements.  The musicians are the best performing artists around, and together form an eclectic, international mix, with band members coming from China, the USA, Australia, and Brazil.  RGP has performed to captivated and energetic audiences at the JZ Music Festival, the FuXing International Jazz Festival, the Midi International Jazz Festival, and most recently at the Hangzhou Grand Theater with guest vocalist Shunza.

The Red Groove Project is giving China a beat!